Our Staff


Amit Sood, MD MSc FACP

Dr. Amit Sood, M.D., M.Sc., F.A.C.P., is former chair of Mayo Mind Body Initiative, Professor of Medicine (Retired) with Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, and former enterprise director of Student Life and Wellness. Dr. Sood is internationally recognized for his work on resilience, wellbeing, burnout, happiness, and mindfulness.

Dr. Sood teaches this program to patients, fellow physicians, other staff members at Mayo Clinic, corporate executives, students, members of the community, and others. He has held thousands of workshops to teach this program and has participated in over twenty clinical trials at Mayo Clinic and elsewhere incorporating the principles covered in the Transform course. Dr. Sood is the author of the books, The Mayo Clinic Guide to Stress-Free Living, The Mayo Clinic Handbook for Happiness, Immerse: A 52-week Course in Resilient Living, Mindfulness Redesigned for the Twenty-First Century, Stronger: The Science and Art of Stress Resilience, and SMART with Dr. Sood.

Dr. Sood received the 2010 Distinguished Service Award, the 2010 Innovator of the Year Award, the 2013 Outstanding Physician Scientist Award, and the 2016 Faculty of the Year Award from Mayo Clinic. He was honored as the Robert Wood Johnson Health Care Pioneer in 2015. The Intelligent Optimist (formerly Ode Magazine) selected Dr. Sood as one among top 20 intelligent optimists helping the world to be a better place. In 2016, Dr. Sood was selected as the top impact maker in healthcare in Rochester, MN. Dr. Sood is a member of Advisory Board for Wellness for Everyday Health and member of the Scientific Advisory Board for Delos, Inc.


Debbie Fuehrer


Carla Paonessa

Education Director

Ann Clark

Research Director

Brent A. Bauer, MD


Bridget Berkland Sandhya Chandna, Ph.D. Sherry S. Chesak, R.N. Ph.D. Susanne M., Cutshall, R.N., C.N.S. 
Debora M. Gama Lima, M.D.
Amer N. Kalaaji, M.D.
Scott Koon
Donna L. Magtibay, R.N. 
Deirdre R. Pachman, M.D.
Brenda M. Schiltz, M.D. 
Mary E. Sheeran, L.I.C.S.W. 
Richa Sood, M.D.
Jason Soyring
Linda Wortman